15+ Reasons to End your Cable connection Today

السلام عليكم و رحمة الله و بركاته

In the beginning of last Ramadan, after Fajr Salah, my husband asked a brother if he was going to break fast at the masjid. He smiled and he said, “I should, my wife is very angry with me.” He continued to tell my husband that he cut off satellite TV to their house and she was furious.

A few years ago, a friend of mine told me she came home from school one day she could not find a single television under their roof. Not in the living room, not in the family room, not in the bedroom.

Practicing Muslims and even non Muslims that care about the well being of their family are continuing to dispose of their TVs.

 

Not only does it reduces our attention span and clarity of mind, but it prevents the light of the Quran and Sunnah from emanating in our lives. Watching TV leads to the of the constant intake of haram (music, awrah showing, haram relationships, etc.) and wastage of time. And all this in our homes. We seek refuge in Allah from that. Ameen.

 

Many people will role their eyes when they hear that the TV shouldn’t be in a Muslim household. They think you are extreme trying to revert humanity back to the stoneage. Immediately, it’s a no go. However, I truly believe that if Muslim families at least considered it or tried it, they will find a huge difference in their Iman, their Tawheed, and their overall happiness, by Allah’s permission.

textgram_1491863509

Here is a great lecture by Abu Muhammad Al-Maghribee concerning this topic. The following image is from the notes of this lecture:

Screen shot 2016-06-15 at 6.14.28 AM

Ad-Deen An-Naseeha. Deen is advise. And from one sister to another, this is one of my most passionate topics. Unfortunately, it is also one of the most undermined ideas in the modern Muslim family.

May Allah grant us success and patience. May Allah protect us all and fill our hearts and homes with what our Lord loves. Ameen.

More on this topic later bi ithnillah!

 

6 thoughts on “15+ Reasons to End your Cable connection Today

  1. Hi! I have no TV. Many of the points above are true. Why pay for something that makes you uncomfortable? But, what about the music? Why is it haram? And what about Nasheeds?

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on ShukrallahBlog and commented:
    I agree with this 100%.

    Although, I have a TV, I barely watch it. Even when I was non-Muslim I only spent a limited amount of time watching TV, it just doesn’t entertain me. Nowadays, I watch Huda TV (an Islamic channel) and the occasional film if it is good. But I know I can do more, we call can do more! May Allah help make it easy for us. Ameen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

