One Practical Habit to Fight Depression

Assalam Alaykum Wa Rahmatullah Wa Barakatuh

*this is a personal advice

There were two times in my life that I had fallen into a state of depression, may Allah protect us. The first time was when I was a teenager and I had moved to a new country. And the second time was due to a more personal familial reasons.

I feel as though our current global modern culture makes individuals more prone to falling into a state of periodic sadness. Even for Muslims.

From my observation and experience, people have Deen as a secondary priority and, in essence, attach their hearts to other people/status/jobs/money more than to Allah. They base their lives on something else first (ie, job, family, etc.) then sprinkle Deen where they personally see it fit. Rather, we should live our lives for Allah, and use everything else as a means to please Him and in obedience to Him. In root, this is because of Aqeedah issues. Tawheed is less focused on in “Islamic” environments.

Of course anytime we feel a sense of depression, we must:

  • Run to our Creator
  • Attend circles of knowledge about Allah, Aqeedah, Names and Attributes of Allah- this is certainly because His remembrance is the comfort of our hearts.
  • Avoid sins/too much talking
  • Avoid complaining
  • Seek refuge in Him from Shaitan and our weaknesses
  • Increase our istighfaar
  • Increase our Ibaadah
  • Increase our standing in the night

In BOTH times in my life, in addition to all of that very very essential things, I also would WRITE.

Now, I know that’s very cliche. Many people write and journal. But it’s such a good habit! Each and every morning I would write a few sentences consisting of 5 parts:

1) “Today, in sha Allah, I will/will not….”

2) An Action/Avoidance

3) Positivity

4) Always mention Allah

5) An “Alhamdulillah” Statement

For example, I’d write: “Today, in sha Allah, I will not think about my past and I will treat today as a gift from Allah azza wa jal. Alhamdulillah I woke up today when others may long to have one more day to worship their Lord.”

Sometimes I’d write something and hang it on my wall. Sometimes I’d write it in my notebook. I enjoyed getting creative with these statements.

It’s crucial to start your day thinking positively of Allah and the blessings that He has given you. Make it a habit: Qiyam al-layl, Fajr, Morning Athkaar, breakfast, then write. Or whatever suits your schedule.

In sha Allah in a future post, I’ll link some beneficial reads and lecture to help us defeat these hard times bi ithnillah.

May Allah protect us from every sadness, from every grief, from the punishment of the grave and the punishment of An-Naar. May He gather all of you reading this in Jannah Al-Firdaus Al-A’la in happiness. Ameen!

BarakAllah feekum

Leave a Reply

